now called Academy of Pelvic Health Physical Therapy

Awards & Recognition

Awards Banner

Every year, Section on Women’s Health recognizes SoWH members and/or committees in the following award categories. Awards are announced throughout the year and presented at the annual General Business Meeting at the APTA Combined Sections Meeting.

Award TitleDescription
CSM Student ScholarshipOne student physical therapist with an interest in the women's health field will be selected to receive full payment of registration for CSM. (See application requirements) (Selected by Director of Programming & Assistant Director of Programming)
Elaine Meadows Research ScholarThe Elaine Meadows Research Scholar Award is designed to defray the costs of travel to attend the APTA Combined Sections Meeting (CSM), disseminate research findings and foster national networking of research colleagues. It is awarded to a Section member that must be a presenter of an abstract accepted by SoWH for poster/platform presentation at CSM and that must be the lead presenting author. The candidate is selected based on justification of need for a travel scholarship, the submitted abstract, relevance of their research to women's health physical therapy and the completed application (see application requirements). The winner is selected & announced by the Director of Research 30 days prior to CSM.
Elizabeth Noble
Past Recipients
Elizabeth Noble Award Elizabeth Noble was the founder of the Section on Women´s Health, (then the Section on Obstetrics and Gynecology) and served as its first Chairman. She was a driving force behind the development of the field of obstetric and gynecological physical therapy in the United States. She was the author of multiple books for both the lay public and the professional. To learn more about Elizabeth Noble, click here. The Elizabeth Noble Award is the Section on Women ́s Health ́s highest honor, and is given to a member in good standing of the Section on Women's Health of the APTA providing extraordinary and exemplary service to the field of physical therapy for women, or to the Section on Women ́s Health of the American Physical Therapy Association. The award may be, but is not necessarily, presented on an annual basis. When awarded, the recipient is presented with the award at the Section ́s Annual Business Meeting, at the APTA Combined Sections Meeting. (Selected by SOWH Board of Directors)
Friend of the SectionAnyone or any company that went above and beyond to help the Section on Women’s Health in the past year. It could be helping with a project, going above and beyond for a Board Member to achieve their goals or someone who is always there to assist the Section when needed. (Selected by SOWH Board of Directors)
Volunteer of the YearAnyone that you feel has gone about and beyond this year as one of our volunteers. We would love to recognize a volunteer who has given a great deal of time and energy to the Section this year. (Selected by SOWH Board of Directors)
Research Grant(s)($10,000)The purpose of the 2017 American Physical Therapy Association’s Section on Women´s Health (SoWH) Research Grant Awards program is to encourage the scientific study of topics consistent with the mission of the SoWH. Grant Review Committee selects the research proposal each year and either grants $10,000 or two $5,000 Research Grant awards each year.
Outgoing Board Member/Committee ChairEach outgoing Board/Committee Chair member receives a plaque for their service and dedication to Section on Women's Health.
CSM Poster & Platform Award
Outstanding Service In Education AwardThis award is given annually to a recipient who has embodied the vision and mission of the Section on Women's Health and who has given tirelessly of his or her time and energy to advance high-quality education related to pelvic and abdominal health physical therapy. The recipient demonstrates the values of service, leadership, excellence, and loyalty. Without such volunteer leadership and commitment, we would not be able to achieve what we do.
APTA Emerging Leader Award To identify and honor one physical therapist or physical therapist assistant “emerging leader” from each APTA chapter or section, who has demonstrated extraordinary service early in his or her physical therapy career. The individual should have made exceptional overall accomplishments and contributions to the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA), the component, and the physical therapy profession to advance APTA’s vision.

ARCHIVES (1998-2016)

View: 2017 Award & Grant Winners Roster

View: 2016 Award & Grant Winners Roster (Coming Soon!)

View: 2015 Award & Grant Winners Roster

View: 2014 Award & Grant Winners Roster

View: 2013 Award & Grant Winners Roster

View: 2011 Award & Grant Winners Roster

View: Elizabeth Noble Award Recipients (1998-2017)

Latest Tweets

  • Loading tweets...


The Academy of Pelvic Health Physical Therapy has a NEW website. Please click below to go to the new website.

Take me to the NEW website
Holler Box